, ,

Pilgrim’s Progress: Part 1 of 6 (Ebook)


Format: Illustrated Ebook
Ministry: Bible for Children
Description: In the first part of Pilgrim's Progress, Christian recieves his calling from the Evangelist and leaves his wife and children behind in the City of Destruction. He effectively maneuvers his way through the Slough of Despond, passes under the Wicket Gate (the gate through which the elect must pass, beginning their journey to Heaven) and soon comes to the Interpreter's House, where he learns to think metaphorically. After leaving this enlightening place, Christian sheds his burden and receives the garb and certificate of the elect from some angels. His next stop is the Beautiful Palace.

After leaving the palace, Christian slips down into the Valley of Humiliation, where he battles and defeats Apollyon, the notorious fiend. After transversing the Valley of the Shadow of Death in the dark, he catches up to his friend Faithful. Christian and Faithful arrive in Vanity-Fair together, where they are arrested under the false charge of inciting a riot. Faithful is tried and burnt at the stake, even though Christian is miraculously delivered. Hopeful, inspired by Faithful's faith, becomes Christian's new traveling companion.

The pair of pilgrims soon come to the Doubting Castle, owned by the Giant Despair, who traps them inside and intends to kill them. Fortunately, their faith allows them to escape from the dungeon and make their way to the Delectable Mountains. The shepherds in the foothills warn Christian and Hopeful about the Flatterer and other potential threats in the last leg of their journey. Unfortunately, the Flatterer manages to fool Christian and Hopeful anyway. An angel rescues them, but punishes them for being so blind when they had been warned. In the final stretch of the journey, they encounter Ignorance, who has not entered the path through the Wicket Gate.

In Beulah, which abuts heaven, Christian and Hopeful arrive at the river. To cross the river is to die, but the must cross it in order to enter into heaven. When they arrive at the gates to the Celestial City, they are welcomed graciously with a trumpet fanfares, and they take their place alongside the rest of the elect. Ignorance gets to the gate, but because he doesn't have a certificate of election, he is sent to hell. The pilgrim's progress to heaven completed, the author awakes from his dream.

-taken from gradesaver.com

For more information: Bible for Children Website


Click Here For Secure Download!

Based on 0 reviews

0.0 overall

Be the first to review “Pilgrim’s Progress: Part 1 of 6 (Ebook)”

There are no reviews yet.